Mount students honor the Way of the Cross

March 25, 2013


Altar Servers

Servers Megan Capurso of Mahopac, NY; Adam Earle of Merrick, NY; and Emily DiBiase of Mahopac, NY, pray at the third Station of the Cross.

The light of the setting sun filtered through the windows in Mount Saint Mary College’s Founders Chapel recently, joining the glow of the candles carried by three altar servers as they walked the Way of the Cross.

The solemn ceremony, observed by Roman Catholics during the Easter season, recalls the crucifixion of Jesus Christ through 14 steps, or stations. These stations are commonly affixed to the walls of a church, as either carvings or small illustrations.

With the Mount faithful lining the pews, servers Megan Capurso, Adam Earle and Emily DiBiase ventured to the stations. Fr. Francis Amodio, O.Carm, Mount Saint Mary College campus chaplain, spoke a prayer at each one.


Mount Saint Mary College campus chaplain Fr. Francis Amodio, O.Carm, with server Emily DiBiase in Founders Chapel.

“These reflections are based on the Four Gospels of the New Testament, the Passion Narratives,” explained Fr. Amodio. “This devotion is associated with St. Francis of Assisi.”

The stations are:

  1. Jesus is condemned to death
  2. Jesus carries his cross
  3. Jesus falls the first time
  4. Jesus meets his mother
  5. Simon helps Jesus to carry the cross
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
  7. Jesus falls the second time
  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
  9. Jesus falls the third time
  10. Jesus’ clothes are taken away
  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross
  12. Jesus dies on the cross
  13. Jesus is taken down from the cross
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb

“The Way of the Cross is always a moving experience,” said Alexander LaPoint, assistant director of campus ministry. “To walk with Jesus on his journey to Crucifixion helps to remind us what the Lenten season is about and what we have to look forward to in Easter.”

The idea of the station comes from the Holy Land, as pilgrims walk and pray the steps Jesus took on his way to Calvary, outside the wall of Jerusalem. This walk in Jerusalem is called the Via Dolorosa, or Way of Sorrow.

“For those who cannot go in pilgrimage to Jerusalem, they make the Via Dolorosa in their church by walking around at each station, reflecting on the passion of Jesus Christ,” Fr. Amodio said. “This devotion can also be prayed at home or anywhere else.”