Mount professor named fellow of New York Academy of Medicine

November 13, 2019

Anne-Marie Uebbing, an associate Nursing professor at Mount Saint Mary College, was named a fellow of the New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) on Thursday, November 7.


The Academy addresses the health challenges facing the world’s urban populations through interdisciplinary approaches to policy leadership, innovative research, evaluation, education, and community engagement.

“I have been involved with NYAM in the past as a public health researcher while working as a student research assistant at Columbia University,” noted Uebbing. “As a new NYAM fellow, I am committed to explore barriers to health that result in adverse individual and societal outcomes.”


Anne-Marie Uebbing, an associate Nursing professor at Mount Saint Mary College.


Uebbing was inducted at the Academy’s 172nd Annual Discourse and Awards and Annual Meeting of the Fellows. Priscilla L. Sagar, Mount professor emerita of Nursing, was Uebbing’s sponsor.


Uebbing is a practicing board-certified Family Nurse Practitioner – Internal Medicine, with a specialty focus in pulmonary care. She earned a master’s in Nursing and a Doctorate of Nursing Practice from Pace University. Currently, she is president of the New York State Nurse Practitioner Association Dutchess Ulster Chapter.


The Mount’s prestigious Nursing program is a popular major among incoming first-year students. Mount Nursing students enjoy state-of-the-art simulation labs and clinical relationships with more than 40 area hospitals. The college’s passionate faculty are dedicated to the success of both their undergraduate and graduate students.


Earlier this year, the college’s programs in its School of Nursing were reaccredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) for 10 years, the maximum available accreditation period. Specifically, the baccalaureate degree program in Nursing, the master’s degree program in Nursing, and the post-graduate APRN certificate program at Mount Saint Mary College are accredited by CCNE (