Mount professors recognized for excellence in their fields

February 21, 2019

Two Mount Saint Mary College professors were recently honored for excellence in their academic field.
Anne-MariePortrait of: Anne-Marie Uebbing Uebbing, an associate nursing professor at Mount Saint Mary College, was named a Fellow of the New York Academy of Medicine. The Academy addresses the health challenges facing the world’s urban populations through interdisciplinary approaches to policy leadership, innovative research, evaluation, education, and community engagement.
Uebbing will be inducted at the Academy’s 172nd Annual Discourse and Awards and Annual Meeting of the Fellows in November 2019. Priscilla L. Sagar, Mount professor emerita of Nursing, was Uebbing’s sponsor.
Uebbing is a practicing board-certified Family Nurse Practitioner – Internal Medicine, with a specialty focus in pulmonary care. She earned a master’s in Nursing and a Doctorate of Nursing Practice from Pace University. Currently, she is president of the New York State Nurse Practitioner Association Dutchess Ulster Chapter.
Thuy Linh Nguyen, associate professor of History at the Mount, was awarded the Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowship for Recently Tenured Scholars by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.Portrait of: Thuy Linh Nguyen
The fellowship supports an academic year of residence at a university academic department or university-based humanities center of the applicant’s choice. As such, during the fellowship year (2019-2020), Nguyen will be a visiting scholar at Yale University's Center on Southeast Asian studies.
Originally from Vietnam, Nguyen completed her doctoral studies on Asian history at the University of Pennsylvania. Her research interests include modern Vietnam, East Asian transnationalism, and the history of European imperialism.
Mount Saint Mary College is ranked a Top-Tier University by U.S. News & World Report, and offers bachelor’s and master’s degree programs for careers in healthcare, business, education, social services, communications, media, and the liberal arts.