- by Mount Saint Mary College
Mount Saint Mary College seniors earned awards.

Left to right: Joshua Laskowski of Islip Terrace, N.Y., Mount Saint Mary College Award; Julia Lavin of Ledyard, Conn., Thomas J. Conlon Memorial Award; Samantha Papadopoulos of Smithtown, N.Y., Father Michael J. Gilleece Memorial Award; and Stephen Vellecca of Kings Park, N.Y., Senior Award for Outstanding Service. 


Just in time for Commencement, graduating Mount Saint Mary College students were recognized for their dedication to academics and the community on Tuesday, May 10 during the annual Senior Awards ceremony. 

More than a dozen deserving senior students received awards. 

Julia Lavin of Ledyard, Conn. was the recipient of the Thomas J. Conlon Memorial Award, which is given to a senior student who has shown outstanding leadership in Student Government. 

Stephen Vellecca of Kings Park, N.Y. earned the Senior Award for Outstanding Service. This award is for seniors who have devoted much of their time and energy to serving their classmates, the college community, and the community at large throughout their four years at the Mount. 

Joshua Laskowski of Islip Terrace, N.Y., Student Government Association president, earned the Mount Saint Mary College Award, which is for a senior who has maintained a high standard of academic performance and a spirit of cooperation, leadership, and loyal service, and is representative of what a Mount student exemplifies. 

Samantha Papadopoulos of Smithtown, N.Y. was the recipient of the Father Michael J. Gilleece Memorial Award, which is given to a senior who has a great academic average; is a person of high moral character who exemplifies Judeo-Christian values in their everyday life; and who has worked unselfishly for the development of the human potential of their fellow Mount students. 

The Senior Class Award for Service and Involvement in the Community was awarded to:

  • Lucas Belfonti of Southington, Conn.
  • Taylor Ephraim of West Hempstead, N.Y.
  • Louise Goodman of Brewster, N.Y. 
  • Stephanie Lozada of Rhinebeck, N.Y. 
  • Hannah MacInnes of Monroe, N.Y. 
  • Kathleen Murray of Highland Mills, N.Y. 
  • Jonathan Fessock of Gillette, N.J. 


Senior Class Awards for Outstanding Leadership recipients were:

  • Anthony Caminitti of Mahopac, N.Y. 
  • Jennarose Colucci of Massapequa Park, N.Y. 
  • Emily Crowley of Yorktown Heights, N.Y. 
  • Jessee Hull of Mahopac, N.Y.
  • Annie Keenan of Nesconset, N.Y. 
  • Julia Loda of North Haven, Conn.
  • Deirdre Noble of Rockville Centre, N.Y. 


Several of the Mount’s student clubs were also recognized for outstanding achievements:

  • Latino Student Union and Student Nurses Association earned Club of the Year
  • Allies earned Club event of the Year for “PAWFormation”